CFUW Dr. Margaret McWilliams Pre-Doctoral Fellowship
2018-2019 Value: $11,000

This fellowship, established in 1952, honours Margaret McWilliams, first CFUW President (1919-1923), who dedicated her life to furthering the status of women through improved access to higher education and the active involvement of women in public life. It is awarded to a woman who has completed at least one calendar year in a full-time doctoral program and is enrolled in full-time studies in Canada or abroad at the time of application.

2017-2018 Winner: LAURA JANE WEBER


B.Sc. Bio-Medical Science (Honours), 2015, University of Guelph
Ph.D. Epidemiology and International Development Studies, 2015-2019, University of Guelph

Most Inuit women in the Baffin Region of Nunavut fly out of their communities for birth in distant hospitals in Iqaluit or Ottawa (referred to as obstetric evacuation, OE). Laura Jane’s research will explore the psychological, emotional, spiritual, and physical health implications associated with OE. She anticipates presenting recommendations to policy-makers and healthcare providers for how healthcare and health policy may improve women’s access to the type and extent of obstetric care they value.

Copyright 2018 by CFUW-FCFDU